Hassan District is one of the 30 districts of Karnataka state located in the south-western part of Karnataka in India. The district has had an eventful and rich history. In the past, it reached the height of its glory during the rule of the Hoysalas who had their capital at Dwarasamudra, the modern Halebeed in Belur Taluk. The district, noted for its enchanting natural scenic beauty is also a veritable treasure-house of Hoysala architecture and sculpture, the best specimens of which are at Belur and Halebeed.Shravanabelagola, in Channarayapatna taluk, which is studded with Jain monuments, is a renowned centre of pilgrimage for the jains.


    Like most of the other districts in the State, this district also derives its name from its headquarters town, Hassan. According to the Sthalapurana, the name ‘Hassan’ is a contraction or derivative of ‘Simhasanapura’, associated with janamejaya, a great grandson of the Pandava hero, Arjuna. But the popular belief is that the place is called Hassan after the goddess Hassan-amma or Hasanamba, the presiding deity of the local Hasanamba temple situated in the old town area. Hasanamma or Hasanamba means, in Kannada, a smiling mother or goddess. In this connection, a traditional story, as to how the goddess Hasanamba came to be established at this place, is narrated thus : The Saptamatrikas (seven mothers or goddesses), in the course of their journey from Varasasi (Kashi) to the South, were pleased with the scenic splendour of this area and decided to make it their abode. Accordingly, of the seven mothers, who were sisters, three settled at Hassan and another three in a tank called Devigere, also in Hassan proper, and were called Hasanamba, while the other one settled in a forest near Kenchammana-Hosakote in Alur taluk and was called Kenchamba.


    GEOGRAPHY:- Lying between 12° 13´ and 13° 33´ North latitudes and 75° 33´ and 76º38´ East longitude, Hassan district has a total area of 6826.15 Sq. Kms. The greatest length of the district, from south to north, is about 129 kilometers, and its greatest breadth, from east to west, is about 116 kilometers. The District which has 8 taluks 38 hoblies & 2369 villages. The geographic area of the district of Hassan is 6845 square kilometers. The population is 15.67 lakhs and the average rainfall is about 1031 mms annually. Coffee, Black Pepper, Potato, Paddy and Sugarcane are the major agricultural crops. Hassan district lies partly in the “malnad” tract and partly in the southern “maidan”(plains) tract. By considering the physical aspects, climate, rainfall, etc. the district may be divided into three regions, viz., (1) southern malnad, (2) semi-malnad and (3) southern maidan. western and north-eastern portions of the Belur taluk, western and central parts of Alur taluk and the whole of Sakaleshapura taluk constitute the “southern malnad” region, the central parts of the Arkalgud taluk, the western portion of the Hassan taluk, the eastern portion of the Alur taluk, the central and eastern parts of the Belur taluk and the western parts of the Arasikere taluk form the “semi-malnad” region. The southern maidan region includes the whole of the Holenarasipura and Channarayapatna taluks, eastern parts of the Arasikere and Hassan taluks and the south-eastern portions of the Arkalgud taluk. The southern malnad is a forest-clad hilly region with a heavy rainfall.


    As per the 2001 census the population of Hassan district is 17,21,669. Out of which 14,16,996 is the rural population and 3,04,673 is urban population. The percentage of rural and urban population to the total population of the district is 82.31 and 17.69 respectively. The percentage of rural and urban population to the total population according to 1981 census (1357014) was 85.37 and 14.62 respectively. Between 1981 to 1991 there is an increase of 2.76 percent in urban population. The decadal growth rate works out to 15.67 percent (1981-91). The decadal growth rate was highest between 1951-61 and it was 25.57 percent. It reduced to 23.05 percent during 1961-71, increased to 23.10 percent during 1971-81 and reduced to 15.67 percent during 1981-91. There is a decrease in 7.43 percent of growth in population between 1981-91. The district has a balanced male, female ratio (996) as per 2001 census. The density of population varies considerably amongst the taluks. With a density of 385 persons per Hassan taluk tops the list and this is followed by Arkalgud (295), Holenarasipura (290), Channarayapatna (266), Arasikere (238), Belur (217), Alur (199) and the lowest density of 129 persons per is noticeable in the case of Sakaleshapura taluk according to 2001 census. The density of population per square kilometer for the district is 251.


    The District Court has been vested the powers to decide both Civil and Criminal Cases arising within the Jurisdiction of Hassan District. The District Court has administrative control over all the staff of Subordinate Courts working in the District. The District Court is empowered to withdraw and transfer suits, appeals or other proceedings pending before District Court or in any other Court in the District to any subordinate court in the District competent to try such suit or proceedings for disposal.

    The District & Sessions Court, Hassan is established as per G.O. No. LAW 135 CAD 63 (VIII) dated 27.09.1965 and started functioning w.e.f. 01.11.1965.

    No.of Talukas

    Hassan District consists of Eight (8) Taluks viz., Hassan, Alur, Arasikere, Arakalagudu, Beluru, Channarayapatna, Holenarasipura, Sakaleshapura.

    List of courts functioning in Hassan District:

    1. Prl. District and Sessions Judge, Hassan
    2. Addl. District and Sessions Judge, Hassan
    3. II Addl. District & Sessions Judge, Hassan
    4. III Addl. District & Sessions Judge, Hassan
    5. IV Addl. District & Sessions Judge,Hassan (to sit at Channarayapatna)
    6. V Addl. District & Sessions Judge, Hassan
    7. Addl District and Sessions Judge-FTSC-I(Special Court for Trial of Cases filied under Pocso Act)
    8. Family Court, Hassan
    9. Addl.Family Court, Hassan
    10. Prl. Senior Civil Judge & CJM, Hassan
    11. Addl. Senior Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    12. II Addl. Senior Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    13. Prl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    14. Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    15. II Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    16. III Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    17. IV Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    18. V Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    19. VI Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    20. VII Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Hassan
    21. Civil Judge & JMFC, Alur
    22. Senior Civil Judge & JMFC, Arakalagudu
    23. Civil Judge & JMFC, Arakalgudu
    24. Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Arakalagudu
    25. II Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Arakalagudu
    26. Senior Civil Judge & JMFC, Arasikere
    27. Prl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Arasikere
    28. Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Arasikere
    29. II Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Arasikere
    30. Senior Civil Judge & JMFC, Beluru
    31. Civil Judge & JMFC, Belur
    32. Senior Civil Judge & JMFC, Channarayapatna
    33. Addl. Senior Civil Judge & JMFC Channarayapatna
    34. Prl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Channarayapatna
    35. Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Channarayapatna
    36. II Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Channarayapatna
    37. III Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Channarayapatna
    38. Senior Civil Judge & JMFC, Holenarasipura
    39. Civil Judge & JMFC, Holenarasipura
    40. Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Holenarasipura
    41. Senior Civil Judge & JMFC, Sakaleshapura
    42. Civil Judge & JMFC, Sakaleshapura
    43. Addl. Civil Judge & JMFC, Sakaleshapura

    Infrastructure available

    1. Computer Server room
    2. Judicial Service Centre
    3. E Seva Kendra
    4. Video Conference Hall
    5. District Legal Service Authority
    6. Mediation Centre
    7. Legal Aid Clinic
    8. KIOSK Facility